0

Reading Queue: September

The Reading QueueHiya!

Well, I think summer is officially over in Manchester! The weather seems to be saying, “Yeah it’s September now…it’s time to get chilly!”

Looking back at the past month, I’m actually pretty surprised that I read four books in August! I must say that I couldn’t have done it without audiobooks! I listen when I have to wash bottles (which I do often) and since we don’t have a car, I do a lot of walking around town so audiobooks continue to prove themselves very useful!August Books

  • Defy by Sarah B. Larson
  • Ignite by Sarah B. Larson
  • 99 Days by Katie Cotugno
  • The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

We have finally begun unpacking our books (two months after the move!), so my plans for September are exciting as I’m re-discovering the unread books I brought with us to the U.K.

Reading QueueThe following books are on my Reading Queue for September:

  • Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louis Rennison (print)
  • On the Bright Side, I’m Now the Girlfriend of a Sex God by Louise Rennison (print)
  • Knocked Out by My Nunga-Nungas by Louise Rennison (print)
  • Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo (e-book)
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (arc print)
  • This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith (print)
  • Virals by Kathy Reichs (audiobook)
  • A Spy in the House by Y.S. Lee (audiobook)

I want to know what’s on your Reading Queue! You can comment on this post, or join us on Instagram! If you’re interested in joining, just use the hashtag #readingqueue with a photo of the books you are planning to read! And don’t forget to update us throughout the month!

 

 

2

Waiting On Wednesday: Rivals in the City

Hi there friends!

Memorial Day weekend is such a tease.

It’s this little teeny tiny taste of summer, but you go back to work on Tuesday and you still have 9 school days left. Such a tease!

If you’re a book fan (which you probably are or else why would you be reading this blog?!) you know that these Waiting on Wednesday posts are also a bit of a tease as well! I showcase books that we’re all waiting and excited for only to remind you that these books aren’t yet released. Bummer.

Today’s is a doozy too because it won’t be released until February 2015! Rivals In the City by YS Lee

Today’s feature title is Rivals in the City, the final book in The Agency series by Y.S. Lee.

———————-

This is the fourth colorful and action-packed Victorian detective novel about the exploits of agent Mary Quinn. Mary Quinn and James Easton have set up as private detectives and are also unofficially engaged to be married. But when the Agency asks Mary to take on a special final case, she can’t resist, and agrees. Convicted fraudster Henry Thorold (from book one, A Spy in the House) is dying in prison. His daughter, Angelica, is coming to see him one last time. Mary’s brief is to monitor these visits in case Mrs Thorold, last heard of as a fugitive in France, decides to pay him one last visit. But Mrs Thorold’s return would place James in grave personal danger. Thanks to the complications of love and family loyalties, the stakes for everyone involved are higher than ever. This is the final book in the Mary Quinn Mystery series. It is perfect for fans of Philip Pullman’s Sally Lockhart series and Victorian culture.

———————

In all actuality, I haven’t yet read the other books in The Agency series, but I’ve had my eyes on them for a little while now. They all sound like they’d fit perfectly into my love for Victorian settings and mysteries! Well, now that the series is officially ending, I can go ahead and read them without worry of having to wait for the next installment. Yay! Except, that I do have to wait until the New Year. Drats!