Waiting On Wednesday: Rivals in the City

Hi there friends!

Memorial Day weekend is such a tease.

It’s this little teeny tiny taste of summer, but you go back to work on Tuesday and you still have 9 school days left. Such a tease!

If you’re a book fan (which you probably are or else why would you be reading this blog?!) you know that these Waiting on Wednesday posts are also a bit of a tease as well! I showcase books that we’re all waiting and excited for only to remind you that these books aren’t yet released. Bummer.

Today’s is a doozy too because it won’t be released until February 2015! Rivals In the City by YS Lee

Today’s feature title is Rivals in the City, the final book in The Agency series by Y.S. Lee.

———————-

This is the fourth colorful and action-packed Victorian detective novel about the exploits of agent Mary Quinn. Mary Quinn and James Easton have set up as private detectives and are also unofficially engaged to be married. But when the Agency asks Mary to take on a special final case, she can’t resist, and agrees. Convicted fraudster Henry Thorold (from book one, A Spy in the House) is dying in prison. His daughter, Angelica, is coming to see him one last time. Mary’s brief is to monitor these visits in case Mrs Thorold, last heard of as a fugitive in France, decides to pay him one last visit. But Mrs Thorold’s return would place James in grave personal danger. Thanks to the complications of love and family loyalties, the stakes for everyone involved are higher than ever. This is the final book in the Mary Quinn Mystery series. It is perfect for fans of Philip Pullman’s Sally Lockhart series and Victorian culture.

———————

In all actuality, I haven’t yet read the other books in The Agency series, but I’ve had my eyes on them for a little while now. They all sound like they’d fit perfectly into my love for Victorian settings and mysteries! Well, now that the series is officially ending, I can go ahead and read them without worry of having to wait for the next installment. Yay! Except, that I do have to wait until the New Year. Drats!

 

2 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday: Rivals in the City

  1. Haven’t read this series but I LOVE that cover! It’s very Victorian Gothic looking, which I love! And the colors are very understated but still gorgeous… I feel like this is one of those covers I’d stare at and dissect! :)

  2. Ugh I have been meaning to read this series! The covers are always awesome and the story sounds so fantastic! Better hurry up and read them to try and catch up! :)

    Check out my WoW?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>